News & Events

News Stories

Creating Rural Connections

Through Research

RSS Feed

‹ View All Articles

July 8, 2010

Majority of Award Recipients from Rural Alberta

Bookmark and Share

Eight young leaders were awarded the 2010 Queen’s Golden Jubilee Citizenship Medal. Six of the eight are rural Albertans.The award celebrates the recipients’ volunteerism and leadership in their communities.

The outstanding leaders are:
·    Amanda Achtman – Calgary
·    Amanda Beggs – Red Deer
·    Evelyn Cranston – Hinton
·    Kelty Douglas – Innisfail
·    Sidney Lapp – High Level
·    Kayla Stan – Edmonton
·    Alexandra Wagner – Bonnyville
·    Zhuxi (Jessie) Wang –  Brooks

The young leaders all graduated from high school in 2009 and have contributed to their communities though good citizenship, leadership, community service, and volunteerism.  Each person received a medal and $5000 for their personal development and education. This group was chosen from over 150 winners of the Premier’s Citizenships Award.

“Each recipient has helped make Alberta an even better place to live,” says His Honor, Col. Ret’d, the Honorable Donald S. Ethell. “I have no doubt they will continue to do so well into the future.”

The award was created in 2002 and is administered by Culture and Community Spirit and Advanced Education and Technology. "Each recipient should be proud of her achievements," Lindsay Blackett, Minister of Culture and Community Spirit says. “The quality of life in Alberta is enhanced by the actions and selflessness of people like these great eight.”

Rural Alberta should feel proud; after all, it raised six of those “great eight.”

To read the original news release and read about each recipient’s specific achievements, click here.

Next Article ›‹ Previous Article



Subscribe today for the ARDN's Alberta Rural Connector newsletter.

Subscribe ›